You are here: Kabbalah Library Home / Michael Laitman / Books / Interview with the Future / Part 6. The Face of the Future / What Should One Go Through in order to Obtain Spirituality?

What Should One Go Through in order to Obtain Spirituality?

Question: What should one who is looking for direction do?

Answer: At first he should only study.

Question: Is it possible to describe the way from beginning through the end of correction?

Answer: It is nothing like the present, where we come to a certain individual in order to accelerate his progress in a right direction, because of a possibly bad collective evolution that might occur. It is about a person who comes to this way naturally, because he feels bad, and he is done looking for pleasures in this world and begins to search beyond. Suddenly, his soul demands more than the heart of man, which is the desire for worldly pleasures. This is the point when the point in the heart, the spiritual gene awakens. It begins to claim its own. It has already developed to the point where a person begins to feel it vis-a-vis his other desires. At that time he begins to feel attracted to something seemingly nonexistent. It seems that there is something beyond wealth, honor, power and knowledge, but he cannot find it. It is then that he begins to search.

This is when he arrives at Kabbalah, or other methods, as he finds comfortable. In Kabbalah, there is never pressure or acts against other methods, because a person must find his way by himself. It is forbidden and impossible to force it on him. There is no coercion in spirituality. A person may come for two weeks, a year or two and then leave. He cannot be forced. He follows his own soul, the waves that come to him from his soul. It might be that he satiated himself, and now he misses other things. There is no pressure and coercion, and if a person comes to us, we usually accept him. He comes, sits down and begins to study.

The curriculum is simple and consists of two parts: the first is more emotional, comprised of articles and letters that speak of the way the soul evolves, much like heart to heart talks when we speak of how a person feels if he is on the way, but doesn’t feel he is progressing. The second part consists of the wisdom itself, the structure of reality, the worlds, Sefirot, and souls. It explains how things are inside the souls, by what laws they operate, and how a person can come inside them and what he can change.

Things are very well defined in the study itself. The definitions are exact; there is math, tables, charts and numerical value calculations as well as other things we find in any ordinary science. It is also possible to learn from them how things can be expressed, what formula to use in order to express the inter-relations and the connections between the worlds, to make it more than just words, but something very accurate. And not only accurate, but accurate for each and every soul, directly influencing it.

The group has its own laws. Membership in the group necessitates participation in various things such as teaching Kabbalah. During the study, there is the aim to draw special forces from above. We study texts that were written by Kabbalists such as Rabbi Shimon Bar-Yochai and the Ari, who were at a certain degree of control and awareness of reality. When we read those texts, we can ascend to the level of the author. You do not say this to a beginner, but in fact he can already (especially if he is in a group that is experienced in that) bond with that power, the degree the writer was in. Then, a force pours down on him from above, a light that begins to accelerate the evolution of his spiritual gene – the root of his soul - even further. The evolution through the light continues until the point evolves to an entire ten Sefirot. The point seems to inflate, and when instead of the point there is now ten Sefirot, it is considered an entire structure, the body of a soul, a vessel. It is in this vessel that one perceives reality.

Reality consists of all and all ten Sefirot. One’s small vessel is also comprised of ten Sefirot. Hence, he can feel respectively what happens in the entire reality. The rest of the way is a further opening of the soul and inflation of the ten Sefirot to the size of the entire reality. Thus, each person must come to be as great as the Creator.

Question: After a person attains those ten Sefirot in the first degree and crossed the barrier, does he begin to rise in the worlds?

Answer: Before one attains the first ten Sefirot, it is still not considered degrees, because living the way we are is still not a conscious evolution. It is not considered an ascent in degrees. A person rises in degrees and worlds only after he increases this vessel.

Out of the first ten Sefirot, which is the nucleus, one begins to grow like a fetus in its mother’s womb, by adding corrected desires to that vessel. The addition of each corrected desire to this vessel is called a Mitzvah. The process of increasing the vessel from its first degree, called the “barrier,” to its final degree, called the “end of correction,” is divided to 125 degrees: five worlds, with five Partzufim (plural of Partzuf) inside them, and five Sefirot in each Partzuf. One hundred and twenty five degrees, that’s what the soul must go through. The same way can also be divided to 620 degrees, each of them called Mitzvah as well.

When a new degree is attained, new (unlimited) egoism is added (left line), and opposite it (from the right line), new strength comes to correct this egoism to altruism (middle line). This furthers the evolution. Any act that develops a person from degree to degree is called correction in three lines.

All the practical Mitzvot in our world are seemingly a corporeal replica of things that a person must do in spirituality. However, in this world, the replica has no consequences, hence they are only signs.

From the moment one opens a book, he begins to change dramatically the management of reality toward him. He enters a completely different approach toward the spiritual forces. This is what the Kabbalists want every one to go through.

Back to top
Site location tree